Saturday, March 6, 2010

Taiwan: Kaohsiung(高雄)

This time the earthquake is in Taiwan. On 4 March 2010 at about 01:20 UTC, a magnitude 6.4 earthquake hit southern Taiwan. The epicenter of the quake was in the mountains northeast of the city of Kaohsiung at a depth of 5 km. No major damage was reported near the epicenter, a rural area hard hit in August by a deadly typhoon.

Seismologists and engineers say that the government's use of three building codes formulated to counter the threat of earthquakes may have spared the island from a death toll far higher than that now being revealed. Taiwan uses three construction codes - the government's own rules, those of mainland China, and one used by many foreign investors.

View Larger Map

Kaohsiung City
Kaohsiung (高雄) is a city located in southwestern Taiwan. It is enclosed by Kaohsiung County, and faces the Taiwan Strait on the west. Kaohsiung, officially named Kaohsiung City, is divided into eleven districts. The city is one of two special municipalities under administration of the Republic of China, which grants it the same status as a province. By the end of 2010 the city will be merged with Kaohsiung County to form a larger municipality.

Kaohsiung is the most densely populated and the second largest city in Taiwan, with a population around 1.5 million. It is a center for manufacturing, refining, shipbuilding, and other light and heavy industries. A major port, through which pass most of Taiwan's marine imports and exports, is located at the city but is not managed by the city government. An international airport, the terminal of Sun Yat-sen Freeway, and the railway stations of Western Line and Taiwan High Speed Rail, are also located in Kaohsiung.

Kaohsiung is known for its harbor, although more for commercial than tourism reasons. Hence it is also known as the Harbor Capital (港都) of Taiwan.

The city is also home to Taiwan's navy.

Kaohsiung is divided into 11 administrative districts. Distinction between the districts are often not of great importance to an average visitor, but it is essential in looking for an address. They are roughly grouped by their characteristics.

* Sinsing (新興區)
* Cianjin (前金區)
* Lingya (苓雅區)

The Old City
* Cijin (旗津區)
* Gushan (鼓山區)
* Yancheng (鹽埕區)
* Zuoying (左營區)

Outer Districts
* Sanmin (三民區)
* Nanzih(楠梓區)
* Cianjhen (前鎮區)
* Siaogang(小港區)

Kaohsiung County
Kaohsiung County (高雄縣) is a county in southern Taiwan that encloses but does not include Kaohsiung City. By the end of 2010 the county will be merged with Kaohsiung City to form a single municipality

No comments:

Post a Comment